Exploring drawing media assignment 5 – final pieces first project- the fragile future of the penguin

For this project i created two pieces exploring a  future after all the species of penguin have become extinct.

My aim for this project was to explore a future world after the mass extinction of wildlife. Taking inspiration from Artist Mark Dion’s naturalist studies – my pieces explore the past using memories. The penguins have died out all that is left are digital images and photographs that have became faded, discarded and distorted as the years have passed The pieces are also  a commentary on how in the past animals  were hunted into extinction and how  later we can only guess what they looked liked. Also there is a reference to whether  distant narratives from the past survive or do they become modern legends? Like beasts from mythology such as dragons. stories are  passed down like memories after max extinction how do visual stories survive? . The piece also comments on the fragile nature of marine life. I was partly  inspired by an installation piece from 2016 by Mark Dion that i found online.   The piece comprises of a plush toy penguin placed into a bucket on top of a wooden crate. Placed around the penguin is a collection of curious objects – tar, trinkets , costume jewellery. In this piece Dion is commenting on the destructive behaviour of humans towards nature. It is a serene and sensitive Piece.

OUTCOME

ART WORK  ONE – collage mixed media on canvas board

For my first piece I used a canvas board for my support. I blew up a photograph of a king penguin that I took in the autumn at a wildlife park. Using plexitol medium I transferred my image onto the board. I was hoping for a faded worn image so using water I removed some areas of the  image to make it look more patchy. I began working onto the image using graphite pencil and gouache. I didn’t like this outcome so erased the drawing using soapy water. I then added collage and again wasn’t happy so removed the collage pieces.  I then build up the work using collage, pro maker permanent markers and white liquid correction fluid. I also added black Indian ink marks to the work. Once the piece had dried I added a sheet of clear acetate attaching it to the canvas board. I wanted to add plastic to symbolise pollution in the oceans.

On the whole I am fairly satisfied with the outcome although I feel that I may have been heavy handed with my collage materials so instead of subtlety the effect is too overpowering in places.  I also  feel the black Indian ink looks too harsh.  If i take away something to learn from this piece it is that I  need to gain more experience using a photo transfer method.

ARTWORK TWO – collage , pencil and mixed media on draft paper.

For my second piece I also used a collage transfer technique this time using a black and white photocopy of one of my photographs. Again I used plexitol medium to transfer the image. I also experimented more by using drafting paper as the support. It was very challenging as once I had added the image the drafting paper tended to bend and buckle. Using a piece of zerkall printmaking paper I used a variety of graphite pencils and black ink to draw a variety of marks to match up  and extend the  digital image. I used zerkall paper as this  paper had a nice texture it also does not have a straight edge – I didn’t want to use a neat regular piece of paper.I then added the drafting paper piece on top of the  zerkall paper using glue dots to adhere the piece to the paper. I then added more ink marks and tippex. I think this work is more successful that the canvas collage. I like the way the king penguin looks fragile. I also feel the piece has a sensitive and sad feel which adds a poignancy to the work –  which  was one of my aims.

It was interesting working on these two artworks as they seem very current and relevant – while I was working on them the BBC screened a series called ‘Dynasties “ with an episode that explored the hard life of the Emperor penguin in Antarctica. One section of the programme showed a scene where a group of mother penguins and their chicks were trapped in a gully caused by a severe blizzard ( a consequent of global warming). The penguins were unable to escape up the steep bank of snow and faced certain death. After observing this a group of camera men stepped in and rescued the penguins by digging “steps” in the snow. An action that is unprecedented  in terms of  nature documentary filming.

references / resources

http://www.artsy.net/artwork/mark-dion-the-king-penguin ( assessed October 2018)

http://www.waldburgerwouters.com/mdion/markdionexpo.html ( assessed October 2018)

http://english.sina.com/life/p/2010/0213/304313.html ( assessed October 2018)

https://news.nationalgeographic.com/2016/06/adelie-penguins-antarctica-climate-change-population-decline-refugia/ ( assessed October 2018)

 

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2014/sep/29/earth-lost-50-wildlife-in-40-years-wwf ( assessed October 2018)

https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/tv/news/dynasties-david-attenborough-penguins-rescue-episode-bbc-mike-gunton-a8642501.html ( assessed October 2018)

 

https://www.the-scientist.com/tag/extinction ( assessed October 2018)

 

Author: sarah515110

I am a librarian studying in my spare time for a BA in drawing with the open college of the arts. I began my studying journey in October 2015 and i have really enjoyed the opportunity to explore my personal creative voice - it’s challenging but rewarding as the course is leading me on an exciting journey

Leave a comment