Exploring drawing media – unit 2 – collage – exercise 2.1 – using collage to explore and extend mark-making

The aim of this exercise is to use collage to explore and extend mark making. Also to use discarded off cuts from my old drawings. The suggested subject is a still life using a couple of objects focusing on form and texture.

I decided to use for my still life a pewter hare ( with one ear missing! as  one of its  ear ‘s  had snapped off) the hare has a rough almost pitted texture that reflects the lights and darks  , I almost chose a silver metallic penguin cocktail Shaker. As a contrast the penguin has a very smooth and highly reflective surface. For my third  object I added a small piece of white satin fabric.

I then gathered together a range of discarded drawings, I also did a page of random marks using a graphite pencil.

I spend some time looking over the drawings looking for interesting marks and shapes , I then cut with scissors  and ripped my drawings into different sized strips.

I spend some time sorting my  torn drawing pieces into tones and marks. I also took some time exploring a composition. I did a couple of very small sketches before beginning my drawing.

I used A2 paper used  landscape , I roughly sketched in my still life. Using PVC glue and a brush I slowly built up my drawing layering on my paper materials . I used my iPad to “draw” the shadows using a drawing app basically  I did a page of grey colour using my finger to make the marks then printed the sheet out to use as the shadows.

REFLECTION

I have some previous basic experience of collage making and enjoy the way the medium is very versatile and allows me to experiment.

Looking at my final drawing I was fairly pleased with my outcome. I would never have used collage in this way and really learnt a great detail from following the exercise. Matisse referred to his paper collage patterns as drawing with scissors and I was pleasantly surprised that collage can be used to explore mark making. I felt that  the exercise allowed me to produce a very expressive drawing. The exercise was very intricate and time consuming but did make me realise just how collage can be and that is can be a part of the drawing process. I did a couple of drawings using a range of graphite pencils but feel that they lacked the drama of my collage. I feel in the drawings the tonal values  are very flat and lack depth or structure  – I feel I didn’t quite manage to capture the denser or deeper tones I found the collage process very exciting,and liberating  – I feel it has endless possibilities. I also liked the way that the exercise allowed me to reuse old drawings and allowed me to focus on looking at and dissecting a drawing – looking at it in an entirely new way.

Author: sarah515110

I am a librarian studying in my spare time for a BA in drawing with the open college of the arts. I began my studying journey in October 2015 and i have really enjoyed the opportunity to explore my personal creative voice - it’s challenging but rewarding as the course is leading me on an exciting journey

Leave a comment